Which Countries Are Eligible for US DV 2023?


One of the eligibilities of US Diversity Visa Program is the nationality of the applicant. Any country that has sent 50,000 immigrants to the United States in the past 5 years is not eligible to apply. This is somehow to ensure a fairer opportunity for all.

The countries below have sent at least 50,000 immigrants to the US in the past five years and as such nationals of these countries are not qualified to register for the US DV 2023.


The countries that are not qualified to register for DV 2023 are:


  1. Bangladesh
  2. Brazil
  3. Canada
  4. China (including Hong Kong)
  5. Colombia
  6. Dominican Republic
  7. El Salvador
  8. Haiti
  9. Honduras
  10. India
  11. Jamaica
  12. Mexico
  13. Nigeria
  14. Pakistan
  15. Philippines
  16. South Korea
  17. United Kingdom (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories
  18. Venezuela
  19. Vietnam

If a person is from an ineligible country, they are still qualified to register as a derivative under their spouse if their spouse’s nationality qualifies. Example: If a man is from Nigeria and the wife is from Ghana, the wife can register and include the husband as a derivative.

The registration period for DV 2023 is October 6, 2021, to November 9, 2021. The results of DV 2023 is as usually expected to be released in the first week of May 2022.







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *