The Difference Between EU And Schengen

Europe, European Union and Schengen are different things altogether. Every country in Europe is a European country. Not all European countries are members of the European Union. Not all countries in Europe are part of the Schengen Agreement. And not all European Union members are part of the Schengen Agreement. Also, there are members of Schengen that are not part of the European Union. This can be confusing but the rest of the post explains it better.


Europe is a continent just like Africa, South America and North America.

How many countries are in Europe?

Europe consists of 44 countries.

What are the 44 countries in Europe?

Below is a list of all the 44 countries in Europe:

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Austria
  4. Belarus
  5. Belgium
  6. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  7. Bulgaria
  8. Croatia
  9. Czech Republic (Czechia)
  10. Denmark
  11. Estonia
  12. Finland
  13. France
  14. Germany
  15. Greece
  16. Holy See
  17. Hungary
  18. Iceland
  19. Ireland
  20. Italy
  21. Latvia
  22. Liechtenstein
  23. Lithuania
  24. Luxembourg
  25. Malta
  26. Moldova
  27. Monaco
  28. Montenegro
  29. Netherlands
  30. North Macedonia
  31. Norway
  32. Poland
  33. Portugal
  34. Romania
  35. Russia
  36. San Marino
  37. Serbia
  38. Slovakia
  39. Slovenia
  40. Spain
  41. Sweden
  42. Switzerland
  43. Ukraine
  44. United Kingdom


EU is the abbreviation for European Union. The EU is a political and economic union made up of some European countries that have come together to achieve common goals among which are to promote peace, its values and the well-being of its citizens, offer freedom, security and justice without international borders, ensure sustainable development based on balanced economic growth and price stability, a highly competitive market economy with full employment and social progress, and environmental protection and others.

The EU also has established an economic and monetary union whose currency is the euro.

Though the name is European Union, not all European countries are members. Joining the EU is a complex procedure that takes years to complete. Once an applicant country meets the conditions for membership, it must implement EU rules and regulations in all areas.


Schengen is an agreement between many countries of Europe that allows people and goods to pass freely across the borders of each country without a passport, visa or other controls. The agreement also allows member countries to issue a common visa to visitors which can be used to travel to all member states once valid.

List of European Union member countries

Not all European countries are part of the EU. The EU has 27 members. Below is a list of European Union member countries:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Croatia
  5. Cyprus
  6. Czechia
  7. Denmark
  8. Estonia
  9. Finland
  10. France
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. Hungary
  14. Ireland
  15. Italy
  16. Latvia
  17. Lithuania
  18. Luxembourg
  19. Malta
  20. Netherlands
  21. Poland
  22. Portugal
  23. Romania
  24. Slovakia
  25. Slovenia
  26. Spain
  27. Sweden

Which countries are not in the EU?

The following countries in Europe are not part of the European Union:

  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Belarus
  4. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  5. Holy See
  6. Iceland
  7. Liechtenstein
  8. Moldova
  9. Monaco
  10. Montenegro
  11. North Macedonia
  12. Norway
  13. Russia
  14. San Marino
  15. Serbia
  16. Switzerland
  17. Ukraine
  18. United Kingdom

How many Schengen countries are in Europe?

Schengen consists of 26 countries. Membership is opened to countries in Europe. Below is a list of Schengen countries:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Denmark
  5. Estonia
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy
  13. Latvia
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Lithuania
  16. Luxembourg
  17. Malta
  18. Netherlands
  19. Norway
  20. Poland
  21. Portugal
  22. Slovakia
  23. Slovenia
  24. Spain
  25. Sweden
  26. Switzerland


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *