Schengen: Member States, Meaning, Why UK And Ireland Aren’t Part Of Schengen


The meaning of Schengen in English

Schengen is an agreement between many countries of Europe that allows people and goods to pass freely across the borders of each country without a passport, visa or other controls. The agreement also allows member countries to issue a common visa to visitors which can be used to travel to all member states once valid.

The word Schengen is a name of a small wine-making village Luxembourg, near where the borders of Germany, France, and Luxembourg meet. The Schengen Agreement was signed in the village in 1985. So what we know as Schengen today took its name from the place it was signed.


Schengen: Schengen is the agreement between some European countries to allow free movement of people and goods among member states.

Schengen Visa: Schengen Visa is a common visa policy adopted by member countries of Schengen. Schengen Visa is a travel permit issued by member countries of Schengen to nationals of non-Schengen countries to travel to through any of the member countries for the purpose of tourism and business without the need to obtain separate visas.

Schengen Area: The Schengen Area is an area comprising of all the 26 European countries that signed the Schengen Agreement. These countries have officially abolished all passport and all other types of border control at their mutual borders.



List of Schengen member states

Which countries are Schengen?

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Denmark
  5. Estonia
  6. Finland
  7. France
  8. Germany
  9. Greece
  10. Hungary
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy
  13. Latvia
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Lithuania
  16. Luxembourg
  17. Malta
  18. Netherlands
  19. Norway
  20. Poland
  21. Portugal
  22. Slovakia
  23. Slovenia
  24. Spain
  25. Sweden
  26. Switzerland

Why is the UK not in Schengen?

Similar questions people ask about why the UK and Ireland are missing on the list of Schengen countries include:

Is the UK part of Schengen?

Is UK part of Schengen after Brexit?


Why is Ireland not in Schengen?

Is Ireland part of Schengen?

Until January 31, 2020, the United Kingdom was part of the European Union. Due to the UK and Ireland’s many years of EU membership, many expected them to have been part of the Schengen Area but that isn’t the case. The UK and Ireland did not sign up for the Schengen Agreement. The UK has strict immigration policies and has exited the European Union on January 31, 2020.







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *